Why I Became a CLP

Krista L. Pressnall, CLP
Funding Coordinator II
Financial Pacific Leasing

Back in June 2006, I began my career at Financial Pacific Leasing, starting off as a Booking Coordinator. Within two years, I was promoted to Funding Coordinator Level I, and within two years I was promoted again to Funding Coordinator Level II, which is considered to be a lead position within the department.

The CLP certification was something I had set my sights on when I had first entered the leasing industry. I knew that anybody with this certification had a great and broad knowledge of leasing and were also considered top professionals within the industry.

In 2012, I was asked if I would like to study and sit for the test. I jumped at the opportunity. I’m not going to lie, when I first read the handbook I was a little discouraged. The first thoughts through my head were “What did I get myself into? Am I really ready for this”? I knew from the beginning that this wasn’t going to be easy and that frame of mind wasn’t going to get me very far, so I made the commitment to myself to study as hard as I could. I pushed any negative thoughts out of my head. I attended the 3-day CLP course, studied, took this very seriously, and after almost 2 months felt ready to pass the test.

I knew I did well, as I had studied and really felt I knew much more about leasing and finance before I started. Nevertheless, I was eager to get the results!

All fifteen CLP’s at Financial Pacific Leasing gathered at my desk to tell me the great news: I had passed the test. All of the emotions and experiences that I had gathered over those few months hit me at once and to be honest, it was a great feeling and one of the proudest moments in my life. Knowing that the dedication and determination that I had put into this process had paid off, was priceless.

Anyone who is considering taking the CLP test, I would absolutely encourage it. It is not an easy process, however the experience and knowledge you gain from this certification is tremendous. If you decide to take this journey, remember that it takes hard work, dedication and determination. But in the end, it is fully worth it.

Leave a comment